Passano Foundation photo 2 4514672696_71x101.jpg 4514672694_66x97.jpg 4508224983_726x95.jpg



Press Release

2 October 2006


The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has awarded The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2006 jointly to Andrew Z. Fire and Craig C. Mello for their discovery of  "RNA interference  gene silencing by double-stranded RNA".  


Dr. Fire was the recipient of the 2003 Passano Award for discovering a new fundamental mechanism of gene regulation known as RNA interference (RNAi).  Dr. Fire played a major role in revealing that organisms from plants to humans utilize RNA duplexes to direct the destruction of  of messenger RNAs containing a homologous nucleotide sequence.  Introducing experimentally synthesized trigger RNAs into cells provides a method for inactivating specific genes that is being widely applied across the entire spectrum of biological and biomedical research.

Link to full press release

Press Release

4 October 2006


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2006 to

Roger D. Kornberg, Stanford University, "for his studies of the molecular basis of eukaryotic transcription".


Dr. Kornberg was the recipient of the 1982 Passano Award for his contributions to the current understanding of the structure of chromatin.

Link to full press release

 Andrew Z. Fire, Ph.D.

Roger D. Kornberg, Ph.D.

2003 Passano Laureate

1982 Passano Laureate


For immediate release

Contact: Seth A. McDonnell.

Tel: 410.825.0994


8 October 2008


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm has awarded Roger Y. Tsien, Ph.D. the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP.


Dr. Tsien was the recipient of the 1991 Passano Physician Scientist award for his development of the methodology for measuring changes in calcium levels in living cells.


# # #

Roger Y. Tsien, Ph.D

1991 Passano Physician Scientist